Guest post: Jessie ann

Hello there Pink Giggles readers! I’m Jessie James over at jessieannjames.com and I’m excited to be doing a little post over here!

{IMG_2989

I always get asked about my name…Jessie James. I get comments like “your parents did good on that one!” Sadly, my parents didn’t come up with it; I lucked out in marrying the perfect guy who happened to have the perfect last name. James. So there ya have it, I’m Jessie James and I’m a little bit in love with fitness.

{IMG_0204

I mainly focus on a healthy lifestyle, fitness, and of course life, over at my blog and I hope you will stop by sometime for some of my healthy adventures, but for now, I want to share a little bit about how fitness changed my life.

I won’t bore you with the life story, so lets start with 9 months ago and how the idea of a “Healthy Lifestyle” shocked my system. I have always been a decently healthy eater and have enjoyed growing up as an active child. I’m a dancer and so the idea of eating healthy and staying active wasn’t anything new to me, but I began to see that life is too short to let it take over your life. Counting calories, calculating how to burn those calories, eating the lowest calorie (who knows what’s actually in it) protein bar, and trying the latest celebrity diet, was not how I wanted to live my life and my body hated it. My new husband didn’t understand the craziness so I knew it was time to do a little research and listen to my body.

That’s when I fell in love with fitness. My life changed when working out became something I wanted to do instead of something I had to do. It doesn’t take a huge leap to jump into fitness and baby steps is where its at!! The little things all add up! I learned that I am no runner and shouldn’t compare myself with friends who ran 7 miles a day. I learned that my body is unique and responds to different types of workouts more than others. I learned to RELAX and take those rest days. I learned that my body loved me when I fed it right, gave it a good sweat, and gave it a good rest.

IMG_1877

Here is what I have found works for me. Who knows? Maybe it will work for you too!

HIIT (High Intensity Training)

Group exercise always keeps me motivated!!

There are seriously so many ways to enjoy life! Whether it’s running, swimming, cycling, weight lifting, boxing, dancing, walking, or working out in the living room, it’s all worth it! Healthy is Happy and it doesn’t need to be an exhausting daily thing for you. Do what you love to do and you will see the benefits!

xoxo

Jessie Ann

Leave a Reply

