Totally crushing

muppets(source)

I love love love this movie: I laughed, I cried, I got made fun of for crying, and I cried again after the fact when I was explaining how much I liked it.

Speaking of which, I heard Jason Segel cried the first time he met Kermit the Frog. That’s my kind of guy.

teeth brush(source)

IIn other crush news: I’m also mildly obsessed with apple crisp lately, which goes hand in hand with my absolute disinterest in eating raw apples as of late. So after noticing 600 apples in my fridge that were en route to rotten town, I thought apple crisp was the only solution.

Naturally I googled “healthy apple crisp” and within 0.5 seconds of searching I was bored and certain I was wasting my time….off to the kitchen I went, determined to make it on my own.

While I’m sure it’s not the healthiest dessert, I do think it is slightly “health-ified” from traditional crisp recipes.

Giggles Apple Crisp: I used a small baking dish…. maybe 8 inch x 10 inch

  • Enough macintosh apples to fill the baking dish 
  • 1/4 cup maple flavoured agave nectar
  • lemon juice
  • 3/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • less than 1/3 cup brown sugar (unpacked)
  • approx. 1/4 cup margarine

1. Peel and cut apples. Squirt some lemon juice. Pour some agave. And mix to coat.

2. Mix everything else by hand and crumble on top. The “crumble” will be very crumbly. Add more margarine if you want it to be more clumpy.

3. Bake at 375 C for approx 25-35mins. Drool while your home is filled with the  most delicious scent.

4. Enjoy!

Maybe it’s the sudden change into miserable weather, but I am not enjoying some of my usual favourite healthy foods…Like raw apples for instance. I’ve also been uninterested in my usual breakfast foods. My goal for this week is to make an apple crisp healthy enough to enjoy for breakfast. I’m thinking less sugar, and adding some nuts, flax, and coconut oil, maybe peanut butter too who knows! wish me luck 🙂

5 responses

  1. I LOVE apple crisp… It is my all-time fav! A healthy version would be perfect since I’m trying hard to eat better because then I could eat it every day and not feel like I should have just skipped a few steps and glued it to my behind lol ❤ keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

