I carried a watermelon

Today is August 18th. It is a very special day.

Today is this guys birthday:

patrick mullet(source)

A twinkle in his eye, and a mullet down his back….just the way I like my men.

If you haven’t read his book, I highly recommend it.

patrick book

He truly was a great man. I think he and Lisa Niemi are a modern day Romeo and Juliet (minus all the family fights and suicides and stuff…). But seriously, great love story.

I thought I’d impart some of Patrick’s wisdom to all my dear readers

I have a great deal of faith in faith; if you believe something strongly enough, it becomes true for you. I would like to believe that my father is right here with me in this room and that he’s my guardian angel, that there’s life after death — because if there isn’t, why are we here? I don’t believe that just flesh and bones can contain from the point of view of physics this very real recorded energy inside of us. Whether it’s true or not, we need to believe it. (source)

My favourite quote from his book? He said marriage is “about keeping love alive, learning how to fall in love over and over again, not taking each other for granted, and it’s about forgiveness and trust

What a guy. *swoon*

I also thought I should share the recipe for the sweet sweet ice cream birthday cake I made way back when. I love being fake italian.

007

This was probably the easiest cake I’ve ever made in my life. Especially because Mr PinkGiggles did most of the work (what else is new ?)Winking smile

Anyways, we simply bought a large tupperware container the side of the cake we wanted, and lined it with saran wrap.

Then we started squashing a layer of ice cream in there. At approximately the halfway point, we combined in a bowl

  • 10-12 packages of crushed thinsations chocolate chip cookies
  • Rolo chocolate syrup
  • Lots of melted peanut butter *drool*

We spread this disgustingly delicious looking brown mush mixture as the next layer of the cake and patted more ice cream on top

Then you just let the cake freeze and you should be able to flip the tupperware upside down and the cake will come out perfectly.

003

 

I also thought I’d share my lovely view on my walk home from BodyFlow class last night.

IMG_1034

Such a pretty sky. For those of you who don’t know what BodyFlow is, it’s a mix of yoga, tai chi, pilates. Mainly just yoga and pilates though.

Anyways, I arrived home very excited and proud because I realized that I can now do bird pose. I actually think I was the only person in the class (aside from the teacher of course) who did it last night. So needless to say I came bounding home excited  to brag about it to Mr PG. And what does he do? Asks me to show him what bird pose is….and then he proceeds to upstage me and do it better….My non-yogi boyfriend wins again. Where the hell did I get that guy?

bird pose

The beauty that is bird pose (source)

What’s your favourite group exercise class?

4 responses

Leave a Reply

