Weekend Recap

The time has come! Our veggie garden is in full swing. We are getting new tomatoes, cucumbers, and broccoli every day. I am just about ready to convert my entire backyard into a garden for next year. That’s how good these veggies taste.IMG_0072

Using some of these amazing veggies Mr PG made us an amazing dinner!

This IMG_0121 

turned into this:IMG_0825

 Best (and cutest) homemade burgers I’ve ever had. According to Mr PG’s photo directions. All you need is some lean ground beef, an egg, an onion, and your desired spices and herbs. We also enjoyed an cucumber/tomato/olive oil salad on the side. We also became obsessed with maple cheddar cheese.

I also spent some time with this guy

IMG_0111IMG_0112

 

Apparently he doesn’t return my love, as he stayed this far away from me all night. If anyone can tell who that is you get 100 friendship points. Ok time’s up…

I saw Our Lady Peace at a large outdoor concert. This is the second time I’ve seen OLP perform, and once again I was blown away. Well not exactly, but i was weak in the knees staring at Raine Maida with googly eyes the whole time. I’d say that Mr PG was annoyed with my constant chatter about the OLP frontman all weekend, but he repaid the favour by constantly humming/singing the Wicked soundtrack all weekend. (though, I suppose I created this monster, so naturally I have to deal with him.)

During the concert, we were caught in the worst thunderstorm I’ve ever been a part of. Though we had an umbrella, the wind was so strong we wound up soaked anyway. There were puddles in the street literally higher than our ankles. Here we are canoodle-ing under the umbrella (tree. Does anyone remember that show? under the umbrella tree?)

IMG_0887

I made two recipes this weekend that were so amazing that you should probably stop reading and make them youself.

First I made Angela’s Blueberry Almond Chia Squares. I substituted in honey and mashed banana instead of brown rice syrup and applesauce. (which i guess makes them not vegan). Although the bars crumbled easily, (likely because of my substitutions and I probably didn’t pack it together enough) they were amazing!

And quite frankly I didn’t mind the fact that the bars were crumbly…all the better to eat atop greek yogurt.

IMG_0894

Next up? Jessica’s Baked Buffao Chicken Pasta. If you aren’t salivating by now, well, you’ve got me beat. It is imperative you make this recipe asap. There’s really nothing more to say. This is something I’ll defintely be making again. We did make some minor substitutions; for example subbing in our beloved maple cheddar cheese. We also didn’t add as much cheese as the recipe said.

And for the grand finale?

IMG_0847IMG_0850

That, folks, is an ice cream maker. in action. Shout out to my sicilian sister for the amazing gift.

We’ve already made 2 delicious creations.

Tart Frozen Yogurt

  • 1 kg greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • the juice of half a lemon.
  • Mix it up and let the ice cream maker work it’s magic

Cake Batter Ice cream

  • 1.5 cups half and half cream
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • the insides of half a vanilla bean
  • 1/2 white cake mix.
  • mix together over medium heat. Put in the fridge until it cools. Let the ice cream machine do it’s thaaang.

This cake batter ice cream is amazing. More than amazing. It’s both the best and worst idea I’ve ever had. Best for obvious reasons, but worst because I now foresee a future where my pants don’t fit.

What’s your favourite ice cream flavour?

18 responses

  1. Hahaha, do you ever wonder, what could happen under? Under the umbrella tree!
    Ohh I totally remember Gloria, Jacob and Iggy. I used to die for that show when I was a kid.

    Your garden (and your burgers!) looks ridic. All the herbs I tried to grow this year are dead 😦

  2. I must have an anti-green thumb because the squirrels dug up my parsely, the slugs ate my basil, and my pepper plant has had two chilies on it for the past three weeks. Fail. However my chives and rosemary (in the window sill) are thriving! I’m making burgers tonight (fav thing to eat almost always)!

    As for fav ice cream flavor, I’m a jamocan almond fudge kinda gal, or anything fudgey with brownies. Or cinnamon. Ugh, too many to chose from! Loving the post today!

  3. I ❤ under the umbrella tree! And fav ice cream flavour is either cookies n cream, or Marble Slab cinnamon spice ice cream mixed with a slice of apple pie… Mmmmmmm delicious!

    • I used to live in an apartment too. Some days I miss the apartment because it was so much smaller and much less to clean! I am 100% certain you need that ice cream. It is the best thing I’ve ever made.

  4. My favorite ice cream flavor is cinnamon flavored 😀 I had it for the first time a few years ago and my life has never been the same!

  5. ooo i just found your blog! and was hooked from your line along the top… haha! come and say hello- your smiley disposition could really help me out 🙂

  6. Hello, just recently found your blog via Juile over at Peanut Butter Finger. You seem to have a great blog, and amazing little life going! Congrats!

    But Homemade Butter Peacan and Homemade White Chocolate icecream have been our go to picks this year in our icecream maker! But that Cake batter sounds on point

      • Aww..glad it made your day! I think that great people like you and Julie, whom open your lives up to us readers everyday need to know you are doing a great job, and also how great a life you kids have! Or they appear that way anyway. But love this icecream post. 5 years ago, my Freshman year of college I lost close to 130 lbs, or so have have maintained and kept it off, but last year we took it over the top a little and became a little obsessed with the weight loss, and lost tooo much and wouldn’t touch anything that would put an extra calorie on my body. Gross looking back at pictures and thinking about it, but the last two or three months with the help of an amazing finance and my parents I am on the slow road to recovery. Its little things like, I cant sit down and eat a piece of grilled chicken, but I can sit an three spoonfuls of peanut but or eat half a can of peanuts to get the protein and vitamins. I think its still a mental game and its a battle some days, but those around me have never lost that much weight or know what it feels like to be the plump kid on the playground so putting on weight isnt as easy as it sounds.

        HOWEVER, I maintaining weight and have been allowing myself to eat my TWO loves of the culinary world again: Homemade Low Fat Icecream (Last week when it was hot I ate it for all three meals), and CHEESE (of any kind). So I saw this post and knew I had to comment on the fact someone who is young other than myself is making icecream! This weekend Im going to try double milk chocolate, and then an all WHITE chocolate batch, strawberry batch, and a blueberry batch! Way Stoked! Have a great weekend and glad my post made your day! Sorry to ramble and tell you a whole life story which you could probably care less about but I wanted to give you a little background on why your post meant so much to me, and if your goal was to touch one persons lives aday well you did it with this one! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

