Buongiorno Principessa!

I love Italy. I love Italian food. I love Italian people (this statement excludes the cast of jersey shore.) I love everything about that place.

In fact, so much so, that I’m going to name all of my children Giuseppe. If that doesn’t signify my love then I don’t know what would. In fact, I have, on one occasion (or perhaps more) pretended I was Italian (from Verona to be precise :P). However, that is a story for another time 🙂

It’s no secret that I love food. The key to my heart is a direct pathway through my stomach. It doesn’t come as a shock that my boyfriend wooed me with food.  He cooked his way into my little black heart. And what do you know, he’s Italian.

So here is my attempt at some Italian:

Healthified Meat balls (slightly adapted from a recipe my friend gave me)

  • 1 pound ground chicken breast
  • 8 oz frozen spinach (thawed and drained)
  • 1/4 cup ground flax
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesean/romano blend
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic plus spice
  • a pinch (or two) oregano

1. Combine everything and form balls. Makes approx 18.

2. Place on greased baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 15 mins. Turn down to 350 and bake another 10-15 mins.

 

Just some ingredientsMEATBALLS!

These were absolutely amazing! However, Mr PinkGiggles did inform me that a true Italian would never put flax into meatballs. sigh.
 
 
What’s your favourite type of food? Italian and mexican food could keep me happy forever.
