Muffins glasses.

Keen-wah. I think its important to spell things phonetically so nobody runs to the store to ask for “quinn-o-ah”. And no, that never happened to me.

I just read that quinoa is actually related to the spinach family. (what?). More importantly, it contains all 9 essential amino acids, and is thus a complete protein. It’s also high in fiber and magnesium and gluten free! However, the recipe you are about to read is not gluten free. But it is very yummy.

Coconut quinoa carrot muffins (now that’s a mouthful)
Adapted from Confessions of a Bakeaholic
Ingredients:

•1.5 cups whole wheat flour
•1/2 cup all purpose flour
•1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
•1 tsp EACH baking powder and baking soda
•1 tsp cinnamon
•1 cup cooked quinoa (approx 1/4 cup dry)
•1 cup shredded carrots
•1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (I wanted to use plain greek yogurt but I was all out..and I had a coupon for a free tub of yoplait….can’t compete with that….but if anyone tries it with Greek yog..let me know how it works out!)
•2 eggs, beaten
•1/3 cup sugar
•2 Tbs. melted coconut oil
•1 tsp vanilla

1. Stir together dry ingredients

2. Stir together eggs, carrots, coconut oil, yogurt, sugar, vanilla, COOKED quinoa

3. Pour wet mixture into dry and mix until just moistened.

4. Bake at 350 for approx 35 mins.

In my delightfully deformed heart muffin liners.

 These muffins are great! The quinoa vanishes, and you are left with just the slightest crunch. I would have never guessed there was quinoa in there. Yummy 🙂

I am perfectly content in being a science nerd… with glasses like these I’d be crazy not to be a nerd.

nerd alert.

 

Did anyone like the title of my post? Muffins glasses! Get it, like muscles glasses! Oh, I’m the only one who thought that was clever? Yes? Ok, well at least I know now for next time….anyway, Muscles glasses is the name of some guy from Epic Meal time (Yes, I spend too much time with boys).

Talk to me: What’s your fav way to eat quinoa?

9 responses

  1. Tiffany Glasses?!?!!? WHAT!!!!! I had no idea they even had glasses.

    I have a quinoa receipe on my blog, that’s generally my fav way to eat it. But I never thought of it as a baking food, I may have to try it out!

  2. i heart quinoa. It’s so versitile which is one of the best things about it, but my favorite is in a salad. I just made a southwest quinoa salad a few weeks ago and it was sooo good!

  3. Awesome recipe, huge hit in my house!
    I made a couple of modifications, I used greek yogurt, swapped the oil for apple sauce and used a little less than double, added 1/3 cup raisins to it too. I also used an all natural baking spice that had cinnimon, lemon zest, nutmeg and a bunch of other things in it.
    I made mini muffins for the kids lunches and cooked them for 8 minutes, turned out fantastic

Leave a Reply

