I made dinner.

That’s right folks, I. Made. Dinner. To reiterate how monumental this occurrence was, let me tell you that after dinner I phoned my mom to tell her I made dinner, and she started laughing. Hysterically.
I’m not a fan of cooking up a storm and having a zillion pots and pans on the stove. If I’m in charge of dinner, I think cereal is perfectly acceptable. Mr PinkGiggles? Not so much. I like to bake. I like to eat. It’s as simple as that. I don’t like having dishes, and I don’t like cleaning up. I’m a very busy lady. Luckily, I’m kind of spoiled. Mr Pinkgiggles has made my dinner nearly every night for the last year (or longer, let’s be honest). And I may have said this before..but best. Cook. Ever.
Ok, whatever. Enough about that guy. Back to moi. As I mentioned Monday we are trying a gluten free thing. Mr PG was thouroughly unimpressed with this, so I decided to be a dear and make a gluten free dinner for him.
It was AMAZING!!
However, as luck would have it. After we ate, I found this list of surprising foods that contain gluten. And surprised I was. This is my 2nd gluten-free fail. You’d think after the muffin disasterI would have learned something.

Anyways, I slightly modified a recipe from How sweet It Is

Crispy Honey Turkey
1 boneless, skinless turkey breast—thinly sliced
2 egg whites
1/2 cup cornbread crumbs (you’ll have some leftover, but I found with less in the bowl it’s much harder to cover the meat at all)
1 cup broccoli florets
1 yellow pepper, thinly sliced
Almost a cup of sugar snap peas
1 clove garlic, minced
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/4 cup + 2 generous squirts of honey
salt and pepper to taste

Before

After

1. Slice the veggies! Heat a skillet over medium-high with 1 tbsp olive oil. Saute veggies for approx. 5ish minutes. Add soy sauce and minced garlic to coat, remove from heat, and set aside.
2. Bowl #1: lightly beat egg whites. Bowl #2: corn bread crumbs.
3. Season turkey with salt/pepper as desired. Add 2 tbsp olive oil to heated skillet (medium-high). Dip turkey in bowl 1 followed by bowl 2 and let brown (both sides) in skillet for a couple minutes
4. When turkey is cooked, add the veggies and the honey to the skillet and mix. Serve on a bed of rice noodles.

So, I pretty much suck at this whole gluten free thing. Make me feel better…Has anyone else had any kitchen disasters lately?

15 responses

  1. Looks so yummy! I love her blog too 🙂
    I did a gluten-free cleanse a year or so ago, and I was also surprised at how many foods contain gluten, it was crazy! Ezekiel bread was my favorite thing I discovered through the process.

  2. Congrats, chica! I know how you feel…I used to get flack for not cooking, but now I’m getting into it. When I have time, that is. The blogs help keep me inspired to try new things and be creative in the kitchen. Keep at it and you’ll surprise yourself!! 🙂 xo

  3. My most recent disaster, if you will, was whilst making my recent obsession: veggie stir fry. I’ve been tweaking the recipe/cooking time to keep the peppers as crunchy as the broccoli. Well, I spent so much time focused on my peppers I didn’t take notice that the broccoli wasn’t being sauteed nicely and ended up with near-to-raw brocc and nicely cooked peppers. A very odd and unimpressive combination.

  4. Ha! Congratualtions! I made a bunch of dinners from ingredients this week and they took forever and a day. I have no idea how people do this in everyday life

  5. I concur that cereal is a perfectly acceptable dinner no matter what anyone else says :p and let’s be honest, dessert for every meal would be ideal, if only it wouldn’t make me gain a million pounds…

  6. I agree with Jenny from Fitness Health Food that this recipe seems like a healthy version of a takeout dish! I LOVE when I can make my fave foods in a lighter and healthier way. Similar to your granola recipe!!! Keep the delicious recipes coming!!!!!

  7. You are too cute! Small portions though girl 🙂

    Are you going gluten-free for some reason? I have a few GF recipes on my blog…mostly “desserts” though 😉 – but healthy!

    • Dessert recipes are fine by me 🙂 Can’t wait to check them out! I have a suspicion that my boyfriend is allergic to gluten, so we are trying to go GF for a couple weeks to see how he feels…but it’s so much harder than I thought! They sneak that stuff into so many things!

  8. Pingback: 7 links | PinkGiggles

Leave a Reply

