I LOVE MY JOB!

What a long, stressful week this is shaping up to be…and it’s only wednesday.

This morning during a meeting, I let my mind drift away for a quick second. I couldn’t stop thinking about how much I didn’t want to be there. In the past few weeks, I have used the word “hate” multiple times when describing my job. In my meeting this morning, I made a quick mental list of 999 things I’d rather be doing (some highlights from the list: poking my eyes out and trying to befriend the loch ness monster) . Then it clicked in my teensy little brain: The more I remind myself I dislike my job, the more I dislike being here, and the less desire I have to complete my work. DUH! What am I doing with this mindset, I know better than that.  …so today is day 1 of  I LOVE MY JOB!

And what a great day it is! I won an elevator race this morning. This basically means two elevators opened simultaneously, and I shouted “IT’S A RACE!!” to one of my colleagues. This prompted him to look at me like i have a cactus growing out of my head as I darted into the elevator. Needless to say, I won. Who cares if the rest of my day was chained to my desk, I am a grad student, I’m paying my dues. I’m learning, becoming smarter, and more competitive in my field.   Ultimately this will help me. Fortunately for my sanity (and the sanity of my loved ones who put up with me–> Thanks guys! ❤ ) my “job” has an end date. I will graduate. I will move on to bigger and better things.

Funnily enough, when I popped online to do some research I came across a little link that said something along the lines “7 low stress jobs”. The words were practically glowing,  I felt like a kid myself in a candy store. I had to click it. I felt like I would suddenly see this gold light and an angel would lift me up and I would find my true calling. (what?) So I clicked. The first “low” stress job it showed, was actually what I have recently decided is my dream job. Go figure eh. Why didn’t I see that link like 5 years ago. 

Anyways, I ultimately created pinkgiggles to share  my healthy and happy life with others, tho I feel as though I haven’t shared much of either. So stay tuned honeybees, cuz my story is only getting better 🙂

6 responses

  1. I enjoy reading your blog… Remember, stay positive,stay up beat and enjoy life and enjoy what you do… Yes not everyday is great and fantastic, but your life is very good compared to what it could be. You are a grad student, learning and experiencing things than not many others will.. You are unique, and wonderful. Life is good!!!!

    Remember, everyone will get their just rewards, work hard, stay positive and be happy, and you will get your just rewards also.. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pour some sugar on me « PinkGiggles

Leave a Reply

